Pie in the Sky (Remy Lai)


Edition: 平裝書 Paperback
Price:
Sale priceHK$69.00 Regular priceHK$117.00
Stock:
Out of stock
Product Info
English Age 8 - 11
平裝書 Paperback 384 pages 15.3 x 2.5 x 20.1 cm
Approx. weight: 0.42 kg
Barcode: 9781250314109 Macmillan US

More books in English for Age 8 - 11

Description

By: Remy Lai | Illustrator: Remy Lai | Age: 8-11 Years | English | Page: 384 | Paperback | 15.3 x 2.5 x 20.1 cm


A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year!
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year!
An NPR Best Book of the Year!
A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!
A Kirkus Best Book of the Year!
Recipient of FIVE starred reviews!

"Pie in the Sky
is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." ―Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he’s landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn’t speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

A Junior Library Guild selection!

"Seamlessly mixes together equal parts of humor, loss, identity, discovery, and love to create a delicious concoction of a story. . . illustrated beautifully with Lai's insightful drawings." ―Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

* "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney’s popular “Wimpy Kid” series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." ―School Library Journal, starred review

* “Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson.” ―Shelf Awareness, starred review

This title has common core connections.

You may also like

熱銷中 Top Trending

View all
Press Start! #15  Mega Mole Girl Digs Deep! (Branches)
Press Start! #15 Mega Mole Girl Digs Deep! (Branches)
Sale priceHK$47.00 Regular priceHK$98.00
In stock
WonderWonder
Wonder
Sale priceFrom HK$64.00 Regular priceHK$96.00
In stock
Longman Weekly English Gramma Exercises (with Gramma Video)-Supplemental: 英文科 English-買書書 BuyBookBookLongman Weekly English Gramma Exercises (with Gramma Video)-Supplemental: 英文科 English-買書書 BuyBookBook
Longman Weekly English Gramma Exercises (with Gramma Video)
Sale priceHK$71.00 Regular priceHK$83.00
In stock
Longman Smart Grammar (incl. Common Errors Quiz)-Supplemental: 英文科 English-買書書 BuyBookBookLongman Smart Grammar (incl. Common Errors Quiz)-Supplemental: 英文科 English-買書書 BuyBookBook
Longman Smart Grammar (incl. Common Errors Quiz)
Sale priceHK$65.00 Regular priceHK$76.00
In stock
Disney/Pixar Inside Out 2: All in the Mind
Disney/Pixar Inside Out 2: All in the Mind
Sale priceHK$96.00 Regular priceHK$150.00
In stock
Percy Jackson and the Olympians 5 Book Paperback Boxed Set (w/poster)Percy Jackson and the Olympians 5 Book Paperback Boxed Set (w/poster)
Percy Jackson and the Olympians 5 Book Paperback Boxed Set (w/poster)
Sale priceHK$287.00 Regular priceHK$450.00
In stock
Astrochimp (David Walliams)Astrochimp (David Walliams)
Astrochimp (David Walliams)
Sale priceHK$79.00 Regular priceHK$182.00
In stock
Treehouse, The (正版) Boxset / Bundle with QR code Audio (Andy Griffiths)Treehouse, The (正版) #01-11 Bundle (11 Books)(Andy Griffiths) Macmillan UK
Treehouse, The (正版) Boxset / Bundle with QR code Audio (Andy Griffiths)
Sale priceFrom HK$167.88 Regular priceHK$673.00
In stock
Minecraft Ironsword Academy #1 Ready. Set. Respawn!Minecraft Ironsword Academy #1 Ready. Set. Respawn!
Minecraft Ironsword Academy #1 Ready. Set. Respawn!
Sale priceHK$64.00 Regular priceHK$112.00
In stock
Harry Potter (正版) Children Edition #1-7 (7 Books) (J.K. Rowling) (printed in UK) - 買書書 BuyBookBookHarry Potter (正版) Children Edition #1-7 (7 Books) (J.K. Rowling) (printed in UK) - 買書書 BuyBookBook
Harry Potter (正版) Children #1-7 Collection (7 Books)(J.K. Rowling)(printed in UK)
Sale priceFrom HK$449.00 Regular priceHK$799.00
In stock
如果歷史是一群喵 套裝如果歷史是一群喵 套裝-非故事: 歷史戰爭 History & War-買書書 BuyBookBook
如果歷史是一群喵 套裝
Sale priceFrom HK$389.00 Regular priceHK$590.00
In stock
Dogtown
Dogtown
Sale priceFrom HK$64.00 Regular priceHK$90.00
In stock
To Catch a Thief (Martha Brockenbrough)
To Catch a Thief (Martha Brockenbrough)
Sale priceHK$115.00 Regular priceHK$180.00
In stock
Mickey Mouse Funhouse: Worlds of Fun!Mickey Mouse Funhouse: Worlds of Fun!
Mickey Mouse Funhouse: Worlds of Fun!
Sale priceHK$39.00 Regular priceHK$60.00
In stock
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder-Graphic novel / Comic book / Manga: Superheroes and super-villains-買書書 BuyBookBook
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Sale priceHK$79.00 Regular priceHK$182.00
In stock
Behaviour Matters Collection (14 Book) - 買書書 BuyBookBookBehaviour Matters Collection (14 Book) Hachette UK
Behaviour Matters Collection (14 Books)
Sale priceHK$265.00 Regular priceHK$1,180.00
In stock
Inheritance Games, The #1 (Jennifer Lynn Barnes)Inheritance Games, The #1 (Jennifer Lynn Barnes)-Fiction: 劇情故事 General-買書書 BuyBookBook
Inheritance Games, The #1 (Jennifer Lynn Barnes)
Sale priceHK$79.00 Regular priceHK$117.00
In stock
National Geographic Kids Almanac 2025 (International Edition)National Geographic Kids Almanac 2025 (International Edition)
National Geographic Kids Almanac 2025 (International Edition)
Sale priceHK$105.00 Regular priceHK$160.00
In stock
Good DifferentGood Different
Good Different
Sale priceFrom HK$59.00 Regular priceHK$90.00
In stock
WolfwalkersWolfwalkers
Wolfwalkers
Sale priceHK$99.00 Regular priceHK$150.00
In stock
英雄最強王圖鑑:NO.1爭奪淘汰賽 (健部伸明)英雄最強王圖鑑:NO.1爭奪淘汰賽 (健部伸明)
英雄最強王圖鑑:NO.1爭奪淘汰賽 (健部伸明)
Sale priceHK$61.00 Regular priceHK$93.00
In stock
100 Things to Know About Sport
100 Things to Know About Sport
Sale priceHK$79.00 Regular priceHK$140.00
In stock
Prime Weekly Mathematics Exercises (New Curriculum)Prime Weekly Mathematics Exercises (New Curriculum)
Prime Weekly Mathematics Exercises (New Curriculum)
Sale priceHK$71.00 Regular priceHK$83.00
In stock
Mr Panda Bundle-Fiction: 兒童繪本 Picture Books-買書書 BuyBookBookMr Panda Collection (5 Books) Hachette UK
Mr Panda Bundle
Sale priceFrom HK$185.00 Regular priceHK$395.00
In stock

Recently viewed