The Land of Forgotten Girls (Paperback) (Erin Entrada Kelly)

School & Growing up

格式 Format: 平裝書 Paperback
Price:
Sale priceHK$46.00 Regular priceHK$63.00
Stock:
In stock (現貨) - Ship in 3 working days
Product Info
English Age 8 - 12
平裝書 Paperback 320 pages 2.0 x 12.95 x 19.3 cm
Approx. weight: 0.2 kg
Barcode: 9780062238658 Harpercollins US

More books in English for Age 8 - 12

Description

Author: Erin Entrada Kelly | Age: 8-12 | English | Page: 320 | Paperback | 2.03 x 12.95 x 19.3 cm


In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls “A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.” For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents’ Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove—their mythical, world-traveling aunt—is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, “Kelly’s sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol’s true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.”

                Recommendations

                Recently viewed